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CHAPTER 47
SNOWMOBILES

DIVISION I
REGISTRATION, RENEWAL, TITLING,
DECAL PLACEMENT AND ACCIDENT REPORTS

571—47.1(321G) Definitions. For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions shall apply:
“Commission,” “Department,” ““Operator,” “Public Land,” “Roadway,” and “Snowmobile” means the same
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[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.2(321G) Operation on roadways, highways, streets and snowmobile trails. A person shall not
operate a snowmobile upon roadways, highways, streets, or designated snowmobile trails except as provided in
Iowa Code section 321G.9.

NoOTE: Additional driving and operation limitations are listed in Iowa Code section 321G.13.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.3(321G) Registration for snowmobiles.

47.3(1) General. A person shall not operate, maintain, or give permission for the operation or maintenance
of a snowmobile on public land, a designated snowmobile trail, or ice unless the snowmobile:

a. Isregistered in accordance with the requirements of lowa Code chapter 321G and this chapter;

b. Displays a current anntal nonresident user permit decal issued as provided in rule 571—47.4(321G);
or

c. Is exempt from registration pursuant to lowa Code section 321G.8.

47.3(2) Registration requirements.

a. The owner of each snowmobile required to be registered shall file an application for registration with
the department through a county recorder and pay all applicable fees pursuant to Iowa Code section 321G.4
and these rules, except that a snowmobile dealer shall make application and pay all applicable registration and
title fees on behalf of a purchaser of a snowmobile.

(1) Application forms. Fhe applicant shall vse DNR Form 542-8067 in meking apphieation for
registrationApplications for registration shall be made on forms provided by the department. In the event the
applicant does not have the required documentation required by BNR Form 542-8067, the applicant shal use
DPNR Form 542-8065 and may be required to secure a bond consistent with the requirements of 571—Chapter
50.

(2) Fees. The applicant shall pay the following fees: $45 30 for the permit registration fee; $1 for the
writing fee; and $1.50 for the administrative fee. In addition, a county recorder may collect an additional 25
cents for the writing fee if the county recorder issues the registration.

b. At such time the department or the county recorder is satisfied with the application and has received
the required fees, the department or county recorder shall issue to the applicant a registration certificate and
registration decal.
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47.3(3) Preregistration grace period.

a. Dealer purchases. An unregistered snowmobile sold by a dealer to an Iowa resident for use in lowa
shall bear a card made of pastebeard cardstock or other similar material that includes the words “registration
applied for” and the date of purchase. Such card shall entitle the purchaser to operate the snowmobile for 45
days immediately following the purchase. The purchaser shall place this card on the windshield area of the
snowmobile in a position so as to be clearly visible at all times and maintained in a legible manner. The operator
of any snowmobile displaying a “registration applied for” card described in this paragraph shall carry and
provide upon request to any peace officer a valid bill of sale for the snowmobile.

b. Nondealer purchases. Snowmobiles may be sold by nondealers, and the registration grace period may
apply depending on the current registration of the vehicle.

(1) A snowmobile that is currently registered in the state of lowa may be legally operated for 30 days
before it is registered under the purchaser’s name.

(2) A snowmobile not currently registered in the state of lowa shall not be operated until it is titled and
registered in the purchaser’s name. Valid registration in another state does not authorize preregistration
operation.

47.3(4) Registration—renewals. Every snowmobile registration certificate and registration decal expires at
midnight December 31 of the year issued or at the time specified on the registration decal. Applications for
renewal shall be completed pursuant to lowa Code section 321G.6.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.4(321G) Nonresident user permits.

47.4(1) A nonresident wishing to operate a snowmobile, other than such vehicle owned by a resident and
registered pursuant to lowa Code chapter 321G, on public land, a designated snowmobile trail, or ice of this state
must first obtain a nonresident user permit from the department.

47.4(2) The department, a county recorder or license agent designated by the director may issue nonresident
user permits. The applicant shall pay the following fees for a user permit: $15 for the permit fee; $1 for a writing
fee; and $1.50 for an administrative fee. In the event the county recorder issues such a permit, the county recorder
may charge an additional 25 cents for the writing fee.

47.4(3) A user permit issued under this rule shall be valid for the calendar year or time period specified in
the permit and shall be limited to the vehicle specified at the time of application.

47.4(4) Nonresident user permits are issued to a vehicle and are not transferable.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.5(321G) Display of registration and nonresident user permit decals. The owner of a snowmobile
shall display the registration decal or nonresident user permit decal on the windshield of the snowmobile so that
the decal is clearly visible. If the snowmobile does not have a windshield, then the decal shall be affixed to the
area of the hood near the headlamp so that the decal is clearly visible.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, eftective 8/4/10]

571—47.6(321G) Registration certificate.

47.6(1) An operator of a snowmobile shall carry the registration certificate either in such vehicle or on the
person of the operator when the snowmobile is in use.

47.6(2) The operator of a snowmobile shall exhibit the registration certificate to all of the following:

a. To apeace officer or department personnel upon request;

b. To aperson injured in an accident involving the snowmobile, or that person’s agent;

¢.  To the owner or operator of another snowmobile when the snowmobile is involved in a collision or
accident of any nature with the other snowmobile, or that person’s agent;

d. To the owner of personal or real property when the snowmobile is involved in a collision or accident
of any natare with the property of the other person, or that person’s agent; and To the property owner or tenant
when the snowmobile is being operated on private property without permission from the property owner or
tenant, or that person’s agent.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.7(321G) Owner’s certificate of title.
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47.7(1) The owner of a snowmobile acquired on or after January 28, 1998, other than a snowmobile used
exclusively as a farm implement or a previously registered snowmobile that is more than 30 years old, shall
apply to the county recorder of the county in which the owner resides for a certificate of title for the snowmobile.
The owner shall make application within 30 days after acquisition of the snowmobile, using BNR Ferm 542-
8067 forms provided by the department, and shall include the required fees set out in lowa Code section 321G.30.

47.7(2) A certificate of title issued by the county recorder shall be on BPNR Eerm 542-0974-forms provided

by the department.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.8(321G) Procedures for application and for issuance of a vehicle identification number (VIN) for
homebuilt snowmobiles.

47.8(1) A person, other than a manufacturer, who constructs or rebuilds a snowmobile for which there is no
legible VIN may make application to the department on BPNR Ferm 542-8065 forms provided by the department
for the issuance of a new VIN. The application process shall include an inspection of the snowmobile by the
department. If the application is approved, the VIN shall be affixed to the vehicle by a eenservation peace officer.
The completed application shall then be surrendered to the county recorder.

47.8(2) The eonservation peace officer shall permanently affix the VIN to the frame under the seat of the
snowmobile.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.9(321G) Accident report.

47.9(1) Whenever any snowmobile is involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to anyone or
property damage amounting to $1;6661,500 or more, the operator or someone acting for the operator shall
immediately notify the county sheriff or another law enforcement agency of the state.

47.9(2) If the accident occurred on public land, a designated snowmobile trail, or ice under the jurisdiction
of the commission, the operator shall file a report of the accident with the department within 72 hours. The report
shall be on BNR Ferm 542-8093; Off Highway Vehiele Ineident Report Eorm-forms provided by the department.

47.9(3) Accidents other than those specified in 47.9(2) shall be reported as required in lowa Code section
321.266.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10; ARC 1226C, IAB 12/11/13, effective 1/15/14]

The rules in this division are intended to implement lowa Code section 321G.2.

571—47.10(321G) Snowmobile fee grants, cost-share programs, and contracts. The department shall
transfer, via contract, at least 70 percent of snowmobile fees to a political subdivision or an incorporated private
organization for distribution through snowmobile-related grants, cost-share agreements, or contracts consistent
with Towa Code section 321G.7(2). Terms of this contract shall, at a minimum, direct the receiving party to
identify and make publicly available grant, cost-share program, and contract eligibility and selection criteria;
accounting, auditing, and reporting requirements; termination terms; and unspent money repayment processes.
Any contract entered into pursuant to this rule shall be available en the department’s website er upon request
from department snowmobile program staff.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 321G.7(2).
[ARC 3983C, IAB 8/29/18, effective 10/3/18]

571—47.11 to 47.20 Reserved.

DIVISION II
SNOWMOBILE DEALERS

571—47.21(321G) Purpose. The rules in this division apply to registered snowmobile dealers, manufacturers,
and distributors. These rules establish minimal standards for snowmobile dealers as authorized under Iowa Code

Supplement section 321G.21.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.22(321G) Definitions. For purposes of this division, the following definitions shall apply:
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“Distributor ” means a persen; restdent or nonresident; whe sells or distributes snowmeobiles to snowmebie
dealers in this state or whe maintains distributor representativesthe same as defined in lowa Code section 321G.1.

“Engaged in the business,” or similar wording, means doing any of the following acts for the purpose of
selling snowmobiles at retail: acquiring, selling, exchanging, holding, offering, displaying, brokering, accepting
on consignment or conducting a retail auction, or acting as an agent for the purpose of doing any of these acts.
A person selling at retail more than five snowmobiles during a 12-month period may be presumed to be engaged
in the business.

“Established place of business” means the place actually eceupied either eontinueously or at regular periods
Boe o denlor or memelhotorer sehere the Bosler smd moeeeds vee loopt o dhie denles™s o mmelhetiress busdness i
primarty transaetedsame as defined in lowa Code section 321G.1.

“Manufacturer” means & person engaged in the business of construeting or assembling snewmebiles
Fogeired b be meshioeed wedes Lo Dode choses 20 L0 nad b elissior s b bew am coleblivhed slone of
business for that purpese in this statethe same as defined in lowa Code section 321G.1.

“Manufacturer’s certificate of origin” means a certification signed by the manufacturer, distributor or
importer that the snowmobile described has been transferred to the person or dealer named, and that the transfer
is the first transfer of the vehicle in ordinary trade and commerce. A manufacturer’s certificate of origin may
also be referred to as a manufacturer’s statement of origin.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.23(321G) Dealer’s established place of business. A dealer’s established place of business shall
include landline telephone service and an adequate office area for keeping business records, manufacturers’

certificates of origin, certificates of title or other evidence of ownership for all snowmobiles offered for sale.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.24(321G) Zoning. Dealers licensed under these rules must comply with applicable local zoning
ordinances. Upon request by the department, a dealer shall provide to the department written evidence issued by
the office responsible for the enforcement of zoning ordinances in the city or county where the dealer’s
established place of business is located that the dealer’s established place of business complies with all applicable

zoning provisions.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.25(321G) Sales tax permit. A dealer shall provide to the department written evidence that the dealer

has obtained a sales tax permit issued by the department of revenue.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.26(321G) Special registration certificates for manufacturers, distributors and dealers.

47.26(1) A manufacturer, distributor, or dealer owning a snowmobile required to be registered under lowa
Code chapter 321G and this chapter may operate the unregistered snowmobile for purposes of transporting,
testing, demonstrating, or selling it if both of the following requirements are met:

a. The manufacturer, distributor, or dealer obtains from the department a special registration certificate
and decal containing a general identification number in accordance with Iowa Code section 321G.21. An
application for a special registration certificate shall be submitted on BNR Eerm 542-0846forms provided by
the department; and

b. The manufacturer, distributor, or dealer has the assigned decal attached to a removable sign which is
temporarily but firmly attached to the snowmobile being used.

47.26(2) If a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer has an established place of business in more than one
location, the manufacturer, distributor, or dealer shall obtain from the department a separate and distinct special
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registration certificate, decal and general identification number for each place of business. 47.26(3) Duplicate
special registration certificates and decals may be obtained pursuant to the conditions set forth in Iowa Code
section 321G.21.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.27(321G) Information provided to purchasers. At the time of sale, a dealer shall provide all
purchasers of snowmobiles with beth (1) a eopy of eurrent snowmebie laws and regulations governing the usage
o smevemelilen fn the st o bosens snd L the o pptedate ol sueblic plascs saon Dos sasnmmobile
wsageinformation on how to access the departments website. The department shall provide this required
information en s website; regulations related to snowmobile use. Information provided on the department’s

website shall be deemed current and the most up-to-date information for purposes of this rule.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.28(321G) Right of inspection. The department or any peace officer has the authority to inspect the
following at any dealer location: (1) snowmobiles or component parts of vehicles, (2) business records, and (3)
manufacturers’ certificates of origin, certificates of title and other evidence of ownership for snowmobiles
offered for sale. The department has the right at any time to verify compliance with all statutory and regulatory

requirements by a dealer registered under lowa Code chapter 321G.
[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]

571—47.29(321G) Denial or revocation. The department may deny a dealer application or revoke a dealer
registration certificate when the director determines the applicant or dealer has violated any rule of this chapter
or Iowa Code chapter 321G or when continuation of the permit is not in the public interest. Such denial or
revocation shall become effective upon a date specified in the notice. The notice shall state the extent of the
denial or revocation and the reasons for the action. Within 30 days following receipt of the notice of a revocation
or denial, the applicant or dealer, whichever is applicable, may file a notice of appeal, requesting a contested
case pursuant to 561—Chapter 7. The notice of appeal shall specify the basis for requesting that the permit be
issued or reinstated.

[ARC 8879B, IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10; ARC 1226C, IAB 12/11/13, effective 1/15/14]

The rules in this division are intended to implement lowa Code section 321G.7.

DIVISION III
SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION REVENUE COST-SHARE PROGRAM
[Rescinded ARC 3983C, IAB 8/29/18, effective 10/3/18]
These rules are intended to implement lowa Code chapter 321G.

[Filed ARC 8879B (Notice ARC 8731B, IAB 5/5/10), IAB 6/30/10, effective 8/4/10]
[Filed ARC 1226C (Notice ARC 1022C, IAB 9/18/13), IAB 12/11/13, effective 1/15/14]
[Filed ARC 3983C (Notice ARC 3828C, IAB 6/6/18), IAB 8/29/18, effective 10/3/18]



